Spotlight: True Crime Shows

*All images are from Tumblr*

So, I may have said this before, but I love true crime shows. Why? I do not know, but they are interesting and for the most part, you learn something new from them. With that being said, since Riverdale is not going to be back on until March 7, so there needs to be something I can talk about and I have chosen this topic to talk about.

One of my favorite television channels is Investigation Discovery. They have the best shows that are true crime-based, 24/7. However, I can only consume the channel every once in a while. If I watch too much, I get crazy paranoid, and it is not fun to be home alone and think every noise is an intruder.

My favorite show on Investigation Discovery is Homicide Hunter. “My, my, my,” Lt. Joe Kenda has a great natural charisma and storytelling voice. It is kind of soothing. He has such a great track record of solving murders, so there is plenty of content to pick from for episodes. Not this last Christmas, but the previous Christmas, there was a marathon of Homicide Hunter all day Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. Hey, nothing like spending the holidays with a show about solving murders!

He has appeared on two episodes of the podcast, ID1OT with Chris Hardwick, and was equally amazing on there. If anything, I feel a little more reassured about the world when listening to him speak. He has so many great stories and opinions, it is definitely worth the listen.

As for other television programs, true crime is not just on Investigation Discovery. I have been watching the new Paramount Network’s show WACO. It tells the story of David Koresh, the Branch Davidians, the ATF, and the FBI’s 51 day siege that ended in a blazing fire at Mount Carmel in Texas. I have to say, this show has been great. It does bring in different perspectives on what actually happened and features amazing performances from the entire cast. This show is intense and does a good job of provoking those feelings inside the viewer. I would definitely recommend this show to everyone out there. I am sad there is only 6 episodes, with 4 having already aired. That is how much I am enjoying learning about a piece of history.

Lastly, I am watching The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story. I am not a fan of the back and forth between time, but otherwise the show is good. We are supposed to be viewing this in reverse chronological order, so it is going backward in time, which is an interesting way of storytelling. I am hot and cold with Ryan Murphy shows, but I look forward to the second half of this season, since we will, hopefully, see some answers into why this killing spree happened. And of course, to see Darren Criss’s fabulous acting again.

One of my favorite actors of all time is Darren Criss, so of course I am extremely biased. He was so good on Glee and Supergirl, but I am excited to see his acting chops when not playing Blaine Anderson and the Music Meister, who were kind of similar characters. But, he is so good in this show. Truly a stand out overall. The other actors are good too and all of the performances have been well-acted. I am a little shocked that actual Italians were not cast, but the actors are still perfect in their roles.

Well, that is it! Check out some of the other posts here on TV Watchers Unit, you will not be disappointed. Please like, share, and follow!

XOXO,

Lisa

Leave a comment